I’m one angry motherfucker. I keed. I keed.

Posted: July 6, 2010 in Life Musings, Religion
Tags: ,

I’ve gotten the vibe that some people think I’m bitter angry or a number of other  adjectives. They base their accusations on the general vibe of the blog. I’d like to make a disclaimer. I am in no way any of the above. I look at the world I grew up in with a combination of being bemused, amused and wistful all with a small twist of disdain.

Bemused, amused and disdainful at the silliness of some of the rules they believe one must adhere to, and they even add some of their own! Last week I asked my dad a question about different types of wine. I figured he may know the answer as he’s somewhat of a connoisseur. As a frame of reference I referred to ordering wine in a restaurant. His response while looking at me like I just said the most far off wacky and wrong idea was, ” I never ordered wine in a restaurant in my life!” Geez dad ok.When I pointed out that everyone does, he responded “not in the frum community”.

Now I don’t mind if you don’t like wine. I also don’t care if you do. Point is don’t make it into a religious thing. I promise you nowhere does it say that you can’t have wine at dinner time. And if it does then that’s an even bigger WTF.

Wistful for the things I missed out on being religious. Not having gone to a normal out of town 4 year college to the list. Hope I won’t try to live that one up vicariously through my kids. I embarked on another project in order to experience some of the things I missed. Not for now.

But angry? No. I’m very happy thank you very much.

Comments
  1. Esther says:

    From that convo with your dad, it seems that you got a very limited and messed up frum upbringing. Its a shame because you didn’t even get a real glimpse into the good, normal frum people and things out there.

  2. my dad is world famous (in the Jewish community-from modern orthodox to chassidish) and known to be very intense. he’s very normal and not the stereotypical messed up yeshivish frummie i know you’re thinking of. But yea you do have a point. I know there are plenty of normal frum people out there. I also recognize that had I been brought up in a more relaxed family I possibly would have remained religious. I am happy however in retrospect that I wasn’t brought up that way. I enjoy my viewpoints, even though they very likely would’ve been different. Doesnt mean that they would’ve been true. Just that I would’ve been satisfied with those Jewish viewpoints without having the need to go and discover what i believe to be the truth today.

  3. CityGirl says:

    I’ll stop hijacking your blog, but seriously dude, there’s always grad school. Don’t be so sure that you’ve lost out on your opportunity.

Leave a Reply

